Plasterboard on ceiling - urgent advice needed!

TryC

Hi All,

Please can someone tell me if it is normal to put plasterboard on a ceiling by putting blobs of adhesive on it (not sure exactly what it is called), and just sticking it on the ceiling? I am using a new plasterer and it is on the downstairs room.

I previously had another plasterer plasterboard the room upstairs, below the attic, and while I did not see him apply blobs of adhesive, it is not the say he didn't - but he screwed the plasterboard into the joists of the frames above.

I am assuming there are also joists on the ceiling downstairs, but I am not a professional, so I don't know if this is an alternative way to put the plasterboard on the ceiling.

Please kindly offer up some advice.

It's common to dot and dab plasterboard to walls but ive not seen it done on ceilings. Some place recommend dots of acrylic adhesive and screws for ceilings but again never seen it done with just adhesive. Can't find any youtube vids.

4 minutes ago, Temp said:

It's common to dot and dab plasterboard to walls but ive not seen it done on ceilings. Some place recommend dots of acrylic adhesive and screws for ceilings but again never seen it done with just adhesive. Can't find any youtube vids.

hmm, how peculiar. I will ask if he will screw in as well or just leave it dot dabbed (which is to be skimmed).

47 minutes ago, TryC said:

it won't be screwed in...

So it will fall off at some stage, maybe next week or next decade.  If it is well stuck then it may also rip off some of the previous surface, making a huge mess and maybe landing on the family.

Must have screws into the timber (and they may be quite long as has 2 layers to go through).

It will be screwed in is, I think, your next instruction. How close together will be according to the manual.

• Like 1

4 minutes ago, saveasteading said: