Formal Introduction - Highlands New Build

Jenki

Hi All, I've been around and commented here and there, and asked questions, but finally we are in a position to say we will be starting our new lives, and build later this year. 

We have bought and obtained planning permission, (Finally),  a croft (L shaped field - no buildings or services), in the rural village of Occumster, on the East coast in the Highlands. approx. 12M SW of Wick.  

The plan is to build a modest 2 bed single storey house, and a couple of camping pods.  I've attached a few drawings. Big plans and small budget.

Its a full change of life style, I'm a builder, so if need be I will hopefully get some work here and there, but the main focus will be to get up and running with the pods for some income, house then livestock to follow.

Moving From Preston so already used to the rain, just have to get used to the wind and we will be set.

keep safe

Pete and Mandy 

201021_REV_FloorPlan_LAND 105M SE OF SUIL NA MARA_A4.pdf 101121_REV_Site_Plan_LAND 105M SE OF SUIL NA MARA_A3.pdf 101121_REV_Site_Elevation_LAND 105M SE OF SUIL NA MARA_A4.pdf 191021_REV_Sections_LAND_105M_SE_OF_SUIL_NA_MARA_A4.pdf 231021_REV_PODS_LAND 105M SE OF SUIL NA MARA_A3.pdf

Hi and welcome. 

It looks like you are building a warm roof structure to allow for possible expansion of living space into the loft.

I also note you are planning wood fibre cladding and thin coat render.  I am VERY interested to know who has specified this, which thin coat render you are using, what certifications they have offered you and are you aware of any issues with it in an exposed location like yours?

Yours is probably one location where a small wind turbine would work and produce a useful amount of power.

I would also look at your external skin for the walls. 

Forgetting daves dramas at the moment, it doesn’t strike me as a robust detail for your external walls.