Hi-tech gadget to trace the route of a drain.

I am in the middle of a boundary dispute which involves the position of an original open drainage ditch that has now been piped and covered over. It would be helpful to establish the route of the pipe under the ground.

Is there a surveying gadget that can find the route of the drain that can then be marked at ground level? It is a surface water drain and probably buried no more than 1m under ground.

Just now, ProDave said:

Divining rods.

Yes I am serious.

It would be fascinating to see that actually work, can the technique be self taught? How to create a meaningful flow of water is another issue because the drain only takes water when another attenuation pond overflows in peak wet weather.

If it did work how convincing is such evidence be should the case end up in Court?

Having "found" it with divining rods, I would then dig a hole to confirm the find and accurately identify the position.

Go on, give it a try.  find yourself a couple of rods, anything, welding rod, straightened out coat hangers etc.  Walk slowly towards a know underground feature like a water pipe and see if you get any reaction.  You may be as surprised as i was when I found "I can do it"

Hi we had to get a company in that located the main sewer it was supposed to run along the edge of the pavement according to Scottish water but was one meter into the road,it cost around £400 they opened up a man hole cover and had a massive coil in the back of the van with a transmitter of some type that could be picked up by a cat type tool   

• Like 1

31 minutes ago, ProDave said:

Having "found" it with divining rods, I would then dig a hole to confirm the find and accurately identify the position.