Living in a caravan

Hello!

I'm a newbie here so hi everyone.

My husband and I are just about to embark on a self build in Witley.

We have three boys and as quite a lot of build stories go delays happen and because of these and not starting when we were due we are now having to seriously consider living on site as from August for the last 6 months of the build.

As you can imagine this is quite a daunting prospect being a mother of 3 boys and I would welcome any tips that any of you have that I need to consider.

Power and water supply, where to store clothes etc,  how to do the washing (we have lots of it)!

I've started to look into options, hiring, buy back etc but also would be interested to know if we were to buy outright would it be easy to sell on privately?

I look forward to hearing your experiences and inisights into the matter.

We spent 18 months in a static caravan on site through the coldest winter for years (remember the beast from the east)  That was just me, swmbo and our daughter.  With 3 boys you are going to have to look at a much larger 'van than we had, possibly a twin unit if you want a bedroom for each of the boys?

We had the washing machine etc in the part built house and I also had a desk and office set up in the house.  That was where most stuff was stored as well.

You need to seek out your local caravan dealers, there will be some and they usually have the large flat bed trucks to transport them. When finished you can just sell privately and the buyer will have to pay a transport company to move it.

The one we bought however was actually advertised for sale on a site.  We wanted it because it had a very unusual layout that suited us and had not seen one before, so we talked to the site owner and they were happy to sell it and have it taken off the site. I believe it just got replaced with a new one of the same type on that site.

• Like 1