Lack of transparency in solar PV quotes

H F

I know that most of you on this forum that have solar PV are very clued up on what should comprise a solar system in terms of kit and capacity.

Never having had solar before, and not knowing too much about the tech, when I’ve gone through my paperwork, solar installation quotes seem to lack transparency and specificity. Not a single quote I received stated the size of the inverter they’d install or the number of optimizers - just the brand is mentioned. They’re all vague, and they harp on about savings... 

Is this lack of detail common practice amongst solar PV installers?

Common practice for the industry sad to say.  Been a few years since I worked in it, but the sales tactics was typical for a double glazing company, which a lot of PV companies where.

They relied a lot on people's ignorance, which seems strange to me when they were, at the time, paying £12-£16k for a 4 kWp system.

I’m having a disagreement with my installer. If you look at the attached image, which is a snippet of the final invoice (I’ve scratched out the amount), would you agree that I have been charged for a Victron inverter?

6FF9F2B3-C355-4EF4-A1B9-D2E279889613.jpeg

Yup, can concur. Even when challenged on the price per panel there was always a good reason the cost barely wavered, even if the # panels wen't up and down by 20% or specs changed. Never could get it split by line item!

20 minutes ago, Visti said:

States it clear as day. How are they disputing that?!

They are denying it tooth and nail. 

Needless to say I never opted for the battery solution and it was never installed.

Edited by Home Farm

4 minutes ago, Visti said:

Yup, can concur. Even when challenged on the price per panel there was always a good reason the cost barely wavered, even if the # panels wen't up and down by 20% or specs changed. Never could get it split by line item!

Yeah, it’s astonishing.

This is the approved quotation for our job.