Fire regulations and a timber-framed build

TerryE

The BRegs, and specifically

• B3 Section 2 Internal Fire Spread (Linings)
  • B3 Section 3 Internal Fire Spread (Structure)
  • B3 Section 5 Compartmentalisation
  • B3 Section 6 Cavities
  • B3 Section 7 Protection of openings and fire-stopping

have an impact on the construction detailing within the house.  As a self-builder my aims are twofold: (i) to keep my Building Inspector on my side and happy to sign off our build as complying; (ii) to do the right thing in sensibly protecting the house occupants in the case of a fire and to avoid losing the entire house in the case of a fire.  

I mentioned on a previous post that one of the fun things that I did whilst I was an army officer in my 20s, was to run a fire station for a couple of months during the fireman's strike in 1977/78, and so I had first-hand experience a quite a few house fires and their aftermath, and which I can still vividly remember.  Now all of these were in Brick / block fabric houses and a couple of garages, but in general my personal view is that you can broadly divide fires into two categories: localised and non-localised. 

• A localised fire is just that: it has a defined seat such as a piece of electrical equipment or a pan on the cooker. 
  • A non-localised fire is one that spreads from the room containing the fire into the fabric of the building.