Talk me out of a BackHoe Loader

Duncan62

Be kind, I'm new to this =)

Seems like best of mini digger and dumper in one?

Cheaper to buy, run and then sell, rather than constantly hiring digger+dumper?

Budget: £5k cheap / £10k ok? £5k machinery seems to be old (Bonus: no electrics to go wrong. Bogus: everything is warn)

Buying: How to spot a good one? This useful list may inform? 

Running cost: hydraulic fluid, hoses, red diesel, inverter, batteries? what am I missing?

Use: I can drive a digger no problem, assume this has same learning curve?

Parking: we have space for it. Security?

Maintenance: brother in-law fixes farm machinery, is 300miles away but always available by phone. Garage (shed, really) in next road are very practical and used to machinery.

Talk me out of it.

What do you mean by a "backhoe loader" and "Seems like best of mini digger and dumper in one?"

Any pictures or examples of what you mean?  Or do you mean a simple JCB C3X etc?

JCB's are good, but heavy and being wheel drive rather than track will chew up a soft / wet site in no time.

• Like 1

I bought a 3cx fir my build, cheap and luckily didn’t go wrong (much), yes it’s heavy and chews the ground up and we had the room. In addition to that it was the greatest fun to drive and always on site so available at short notice for multiple jobs from unloading pallets with the forks, digging trenches as a crane and I had a fair bit of ground to level. Not sure if it was cost effective re hiring but I loved owning it 😎.

• Like 1

1 hour ago, ProDave said:

What do you mean by a "backhoe loader" and "Seems like best of mini digger and dumper in one?"

Any pictures or examples of what you mean?  Or do you mean a simple JCB C3X etc?

JCB's are good, but heavy and being wheel drive rather than track will chew up a soft / wet site in no time.

Yes indeed, big scoop on front, bucket with arm on the back.

image.png.d8fcfb1d33235a0b16041596cba2d345.png

Chews up the ground, noted.