I can't drill straight holes for the life of me

My walls are made of concrete and AAC. Until now, I never really needed much precision. However, my holes are never parallel or straight.

I’ve got some floating shelves that I need to attach. I figured I’d put together a jig like this guy from YouTube (though upon rewatching, I noticed he’s only using glue). As I was trying to drill through these boards, I realized that I’m not very good at measuring accurately through wood also.

I feel a bit overwhelmed by this. It can’t be that hard; many people do it. Now, I’m just sitting here, looking at the shelves and waiting for ideas on how to install them without them being crooked.

res_b9dcf5c549ab3a769aacbbea38463255.jpg

Screenshot 2023-10-21 104510.jpg

I would say that most people, including me, don’t drill (or nail) very straight. That usually doesn’t matter and often makes things stronger.

The usual solution, for smallish items, is a drill press.

For larger items or items that can’t be moved there’s a device that can be fixed to a hand drill. These are not precision, but they help. Buy a good one, the cheap ones are a waste of time.

e.g. Wolfcraft 4525404 Multi-Angle Drill Guide Attachment 

p.s. there’s a third option - a ‘drill guide’. Usually aluminium with hardened drill bushings. This kind of thing, or without the vice (I picked this one at random).

Drillpro 3 In 1 Adjustable Woodworking Doweling Jig Kit Pocket

You can find some much cheaper and simpler ones. Also, you can make your own cheap version of this with a flat bit of 2x6 or aluminium block and your mate’s drill press. Probably accurate enough for your needs. Hardened bushings optional, but add some accuracy.

Has nobody mentioned making a jig?

You want to drill 2 holes in the shelf, and 2 holes in the wall, exactly the same distance apart and level.

So take one bit of scrap wood, at least as long as the distance between the to holes plus a bit.