Design considerations for new homes

Over the last 50 years or so, we have got used to a lot of things getting smaller, the main exception is vehicles, ships and aeroplanes.

Our homes, in the UK have definitely got smaller, so small that a sub 50m2 house is not unusual.

This is causing a problem when it comes to fitting all the energy conservation measures needed.  It is not unusual for people on here to say they do not have the room for a cylinder, or a HP, MVHR gets wedged into a loft where it is hard to swap the filters.  Roofs with odd angles and protrusions that will make a PV installation difficult, or even pointless.

So when you comes to design your dream home, forget what has happened in the past, and design with these consideration in mind from the start.

It will save you cash.

• Like 4

This is the main reason that fir my retirement house it was a new build and not a renovation like I have been doing for many years. No compromises. We have thick (400mm) walls and the common comment is “your rooms must be small”, but the walls are added to the room size so the outside dimensions are greater. I cannot think of anything with our new build that is a compromise ?. (But I had been planning it fir aver 20 years ?).

• Like 1

Yes as a lot of us, my new build was designed for what we want, not somebody elses idea of what that might be.

The main one was probably our roof build.  It's 1 1/2 storey or room in roof and I most certainly did not want a normal roof with dormers.  There is something about dormers that I hate. So we came up with the "gable end" design which I first saw are relatively common on the isle of Skye which gives you a much more open roof space with nearly all the roof space having usable height. And being hung from ridge beams means you can have vaulted ceilings right to the ridge if you want to.

The other thing I wanted to avoid was pokey narrow corridors.

There are not many things that I would change if doing it again.

• Like 1