3D Printed Centre Finder & V Block

Onoff

Dug out my old EITB drawings from when I was an apprentice. I made a centre finder and V blocks back then amongst many other things.

Gave the drawings to No.1 son and he re-did them on Fusion. Now printing the centre finder for my mate John.

unknown.thumb.png.ad5616bdcbc66e40eed7264e5305756f.png

unknown.thumb.png.e7b137d8bef0fe438bfb68bf03309e8d.png

• Like 1

I remember making them along with a drill sharpening angle gauge, a drill vice in the milling machine, a jack on the lathe and a chisel at the forge, I very much enjoyed the 1st year of apprenticeship when you got to learn loads of new skills and to within quite fine tolerances, can’t believe it was 40 years ago.

Making that center finder on the bench would be a massive pain owing to the chamfer CNC only or 3D printing. Still new generative design techniques come up with parts you can only make with additive manufacturing (3D printing) perhaps as the path to casting, injection molding or some such.

image2-2.jpg 

Photo Credits: Autodesk

2 minutes ago, MikeSharp01 said:

Making that center finder on the bench would be a massive pain owing to the chamfer CNC only or 3D printing. Still new generative design techniques come up with parts you can only make with additive manufacturing (3D printing) perhaps as the path to casting, injection molding or some such.

image2-2.jpg 

Photo Credits: Autodesk

I made my metal centre finder by hand, even the chamfer was filed. When I find I'll post a pic. The lugs were silver steel from memory.

It was beaten into us to be able to cut to within 20 thou with a hacksaw ?

The piece in your picture would be relatively easy to do with a dual head printer. Print the supports in PVA then when done dissolve (the supports) in a bucket of water.

I like the idea of how some (Ford I think already) are 3D printing performance exhaust manifolds. All the gas flow is worked out and you end up with nice smooth walls, no welds etc.