Hello, I'm a bit new to all of this.

Fogg

My story:

I had a few hours to kill and went to a property auction in which I somehow managed to buy a plot with outline planning permission for what seemed like an insanely cheap price.  It later transpired that it was blighted with services that didn't run where the utilities companies stated where they did, and it looked undevelopable for a while.  Thanks to a bit of leeway from the local authority we got through Reserved Matters with a contemporary design that sits with in the useable footprint, and I'm now at the stage where I need to decide whether I'm going to see it through or sell it to someone who knows what they're doing.

I've got to to decide fairly sharpish whether I'm going to progress to the next stage and get building control drawings done.  I'm leaning towards taking the SIPs route and getting someone like Potton erect and make watertight, but am mindful that I'm out of my comfort zone, so am very open to any advice that's forthcoming.  I will need a property to move into within a few years, so if the numbers stack up getting it built does make a lot of sense.

Screenshot 2023-04-05 163722.jpg

• Thanks 1

Not entirely clear what you’re asking. I can assure you most of us on here were (or still are) out of our comfort zone so you’re in good company. First time self-building is not for the faint-hearted especially if you have zero experience of building. However, it is exciting and rewarding so if you have the right mindset, are relatively organised,  and can solve problems then it’s doable. It can be  a bit of a roller coaster though.