Airtightness tips

MortarThePoint

I'm keen to stay on top of the airtightness as I move forward with the 1st fix and beyond. I am new to thinking about most of this for forgive the inexperience.

I'm thinking of leakage as being mostly through surfaces and edges/junctions.

Surfaces:

• wet plaster on the blockwork walls (GF and FF)
  • wet plaster on the plasterboard 'walls' and ceilings of the attic
  • liquid screed on GF and FF
  • Windows themselves are constructed with a good L-value and have not trickle vents

Edges & Junctions Considering all the junctions between surfaces:

1. Skirting area (GF & FF) - There is a strip of blockwork around the outside of rooms that is below where the plaster will go. This is where the screed expansion strip sticks. I am fitting the expansion strip to the blockwork wall and then taping the membrane that goes under the screed to the skirt of the expansion strip. That leaves a 'gap' between the expansion strip and the blockwork. Narrow but very long. E.g. 10no. 4x4 rooms with a 1/4 mm gap gives an area of 40,000mm2. Has anyone done anything about this?
  2. GF ceiling void - I'll use a sealant between the plasterboard and the walls, but that still leaves a 60+ mm high strip of blockwork and the underside of the hollowcore slabs with no airtightness. measures.
  3. Window & door frames - I'm considering using a triple action compraband for this, otherwise a membrane with a sticky strip that sticks to the frame and gets plastered over.
  4. Below rafters - VCL with taped joints. Ideally run all the way from wall plate to wall plate and taped to the wall plate all round.   Tricky as there is a layer of insulation here too (~100mm at attic floor level).