Hi, I'm a novice and restoring an old church

NotJustin

You must be the chap who’s first jump was off the top board...

Welcome.

Is it listed in some form?

It looks weathered, but restoring render should be easier than restoring all the stonework to be pristine.

Lochcarron.

We're lightly converting to live in it. But mostly restoring. Guy before us tore a lot out without permission. It's grade 2 listed.

could be 3 floors of we wanted. At the moment there is a gallery as a second floor. We have a website www.lochcarronchurch.com

The first serious project, now we have water, loo and power, is the roof which has nail sickness. Hence a cherry picker.

Edited by Justin Tuijl

15 minutes ago, Justin Tuijl said:

We were toying with business ideas but my wife became disabled, so it's all over as a business. It's just a home.

So your idea of crowd funding to repair the roof on the basis of community use might be the wrong approach now?

Oh, it's all very convoluted. We have a community recycling point in the porch. But right now we're simply attempting to save the roof. Since lockdown we've been unable to get even a quote for the roof. Hence the cherry picker and starting to do it ourselves. As for the crowd funding, that was the option for a very rich and large family in the USA to help out, which they haven't.

Like I say, we had many plans, we missed the funding applications due to lockdown and we're not sure if we'll be able to open the doors again. My wife is still hoping to have a gaelic language studio here. But at the moment, who knows quite what is happening. We do have commercial listed building insurance and public liability insurance.

Just have to see what the future is like when and if Scotland comes out of lockdown. Number 1 is to stop the roof falling in, without the roof we have nothing, regardless of viruses, business and so forth.