Hi all, I'm John, a new member

jon-lee

My background is a mixed bag, I've been employed over 20 years in design predominantly precast concrete products (b&b, stairs, hollow-core, lift shafts, the list goes on). In addition to this many years designing structural steel. Currently I'm employed designing retaining structures. I'm not here to promote a business, just to give advice if I can. 

• Like 5

13 hours ago, jon-lee said:

I'm not here to promote a business, just to give advice if I can. 

Welcome, and thanks for being upfront about this.

Several members manage to successfully walk the line between commercial presence and unacceptable business promotion. @craig comes to mind, but there are others.

• Like 2

24 minutes ago, jack said:

Welcome, and thanks for being upfront about this.

Several members manage to successfully walk the line between commercial presence and unacceptable business promotion. @craig comes to mind, but there are others.

LOL…..

• Confused 1

2 hours ago, ETC said:

LOL…..

I don't know what this is supposed to mean. If it's a dig at Craig, look back through his recent posts - lots of helpful content, no mention of his company.

Incidentally, you're one of the "there are others" I was trying to think of when I wrote my reply.

6 minutes ago, jack said:

I don't know what this is supposed to mean

I saw it as agreement that Craig is helpful, as us ETC.

No more or less.

No point scaring off a new member. We can do that later.

Edited by SteamyTea
  • Like 1

5 hours ago, jack said:

I don't know what this is supposed to mean. If it's a dig at Craig, look back through his recent posts - lots of helpful content, no mention of his company.

Incidentally, you're one of the "there are others" I was trying to think of when I wrote my reply.

It’s a dig at the insinuation that people on this forum are trying to pick up business.

5 hours ago, jack said:

I’m one of who? Are you insinuating that I’m here to get business?