Have just recently started building...

DanB

Hi, new to the forum, have kept coming across the forum every time I've googled for a solution to a problem, so thought I ought to finally join!

I'm English but moved to Antigua 6 years ago, and finally bought a plot of land last year and started building in the new year. Quite a few challenges building out here, but also quite a few advantages too. I'm doing a self build (although I do now have a local builder helping me to get out of the ground on 2 of the 4 buildings - cheating a bit I know, but it was taking me forever plus I was missing some key bits of knowledge/experience). It's also my own design, and I don't have an architect or project manager (other than myself)...so a text book case of "how not to build a house"? I do have some experience from doing my own extensions and house gutting and renovations in the past, but I've never done a complete house or new build before.

The plot is one acre, on a 6/12 slope (aprox 26 degrees) and the key unique concept is modular buildings - instead of one big house there will be 3 bedrooms and one main house all as completely separate buildings and not connected. The advantage being that, given the relatively steep slope then the construction can sit into the landscape much better with less excavation of granite (and the disadvantage is that you get wet if you want to go to bed and it’s raining!) The main house is 40’ x 28’ and is one single open plan space of kitchen/dinning/lounge that is also open on 50% of the walls – there is no glass or windows at all in this building...in order to benefit from the cooling trade wind breezes. There will be integrated roller hurricane shutters for storm conditions.