Hello!

Bemak

Only recently came across this forum - looks a great resource and I'm looking forward to contributing to it. I'm an architect myself, based in Ireland. Looking to go for planning permission for my own house in the south-west in the next few month. Design is pretty much there - really focused now on ironing out the services strategy so that it can be designed in from the get-go. Space heating will be provided by UFH on ground floor and rads on first floor which will be run off an air-to-water HP. 

House is on a rural site - opens out to the country side to the south-west - so will avail of excellent daylight throughout the day. One potential problem that may arise from this orientation will be excessive solar gain which I'm hoping to control with a robust glazing specification (low-e). In addition, I'm hoping to add an air-to-air HP which will provide cooling during warmer periods. 

Aiming to put an array of 9 - 12 PV panels on an adjacent shed with excellent orientation for solar panels. 

That's my project in a nutshell! Looking forward to it!

9 hours ago, ToughButterCup said:

Morning!

Ah, an architect. There's a range of reactions to your discipline here: two self-builders in a pub , 5 opinions. You know the sort of thing. You'll be used to that, I expect.

In any case you are most welcome.

Yes, well used to it at this stage. I don't mind taking the flak! In any case I hope I can contribute positively to the forum.

9 hours ago, SteamyTea said:

Welcome.

So why radiators upstairs? Many have found with even a basic design, upstairs heating is unnecessary.

Do you just suspect the solar gain is going to be a problem, or have you actually modelled it?

I've been speaking to a few suppliers and installer and they suggested small rads as token in bedrooms if heating was required. Do you think it shouldn't be? I suppose if I was to go with A2A, it gives me the option of providing heated air upstairs (as I want to be able to cool the bedrooms)