Retired doctor looking to demolish and build new 6 bed home with a builder …

I’ve looked at a load of articles and YouTube videos and heard material price rises and labour inflation is an issue.

im just going to planning and would like a new home and air source heat pump and mvrh for a 4000 sq foot build .

land is expensive here so the 60 year old house will be demolished. The builder is a friend . 
my queries are around light and sound proofing as well as ducting the underfloor heating and landscaping , to remove bamboo.

if any builders can throw me a lesson learned, that would be great. 
the architect thinks a full brick exterior is the solution , but I’m not sure of the bulky impression that creates .

we have a purbeck stone cladding to our front.

I am new to this and apologise with so many questions .

First things first. Is PP a foregone conclusion? Have you researched similar applications? Does your planning department have a thing about (say) Purbeck cladding - you hint at bulk: might the planners agree with you? 

The lesson I'm hinting at is - if you can't point to other instances of applications (and planning decisions) similar to yours,  then you are more exposed to whim. Don't make yourself an easy target.

Thanks . I have read the planning submissions and reports for the area and all have increased the size and this has been accepted for planning . One failed due to loss of character in our conservation area and going to appeal.

I expect the pre-planning will clarify issues

Excellent. Could I now sound a cautionary note about friends working for you? ...You did ask ...

In this context, professional detachment is extremely difficult:  be the issue mate's rates, or employees drinking tea half the day or cash flow, or whatever, there's built-in stress. Every single build has at least one - often more - Oh FFS moment.  That's when professional detachment is a god send.

I'm not suggesting you find another builder, just a little nudge.