Semi-final plans --- feedback/critique welcome!

RK6

Hey everyone!

Design and planning is progressing well for my partially subterranean house in Scotland. You guys are all much more experienced than me, so I'm sure you've got some great feedback that would benefit the build.

Lots of details yet to be worked out (including water/power/heating/cooling), but I'm very excited to be progressing from the initial design phase to the detailed planning phase.  

Screenshot 2021-12-06 at 19.11.58.png

Screenshot 2021-12-06 at 19.10.44.png

Edited by RK6

nice looking project! I'm no expert but we like a large utility room where you don't have to shuffle past someone/something to get to the other end. could you not increase the size of the utility room and reduce the garage size? a 4 car garage seems a bit excessive in a 3 bed house!

The cinema/media room seems a little pokey and also looks a little square. have you done the research on ideal dimensions for home cinemas? might be worth doing that first and then building the room to fit those requirements rather than trying to fit a cinema in to a square room of arbitrary size.

just a couple of thoughts but I look forward to you, hopefully, updating these forums with your progress. looks like a very interesting project for sure.

• Like 1

I think the master bedroom could do with a little bit more floor area to make it less rectangular. I would as much as you can spare off the adjacent bedroom and also move the door up the corridor to the end of the rooflight. This lobby area then becomes dedicated storage/display cabinets for the bedroom. Agree with doing plenty of research on cinema area - maybe check with an AV supplier and talk it over in their demo room. Good luck with this very cool project!

• Like 1

Couple of this.

Lots of glass, great on a plan and looks good, but huge heat loss byin winter and huge heat gain in summer. Not sure how you will meet min building regs in Scotland.