Foundation trench back fill

TANK

Hello guys, novice here. 

Seem to be going round in circles here, sure I already posted this topic a week or so ago but have since had no replies/unable to find the thread again so I'm posting again. Apologies if it is indeed posted elsewhere in the forum and I'm just going mad... 

The question I have is a simple one, yet I can't seem to find anything anywhere relating to it. 

I have dug strip foundations for a medium sized single skin block outbuilding, and half filled this with concrete. I am currently bricking up to get out of the ground to dpc. 

What do I use to fill the gap upwards of the concrete between the brick and the ground? 

Many thanks in advance. 

Hello Tank.

To get the best out of Build Hub you can try doing a quick sketch on a bit of A4 showing the ground level, your foundation etc. Don't worry about the quality.. no one will slag you off for a bad drawing..you need to see some of mine! Take a photo of your page and post it. Sometimes it's easier to make a drawing than to try and explain it in writing. The main thing is to have a bit of fun posting on BH and don't worry about using "technical" speak..just spill it out!

I'm guessing but have you a found and you are trying to work out how you lay the masonry so that when you get out the ground the brick / block courses are level?

If this is the case.. (most founds are not that flat and level) then for example you can lay concrete blocks "on the flat" which is the wide side down and adjust the mortar bed thickness..aiming to keep the mortar thickness to less than 20mm.. does not always work in practice for DIY but that is the aim. If you have not done it before it takes a bit of thinking out.. but great when you get it right!

Edited by Gus Potter

When we did our founds, because of a high water table we backfilled outside with 50mm drainage stone, this became a French drain when piped to a ditch to keep water away from the build.

9 hours ago, TANK said: