Bricks not matching samples?

Dan1983

Morning guys,

Sure this panic has been posted before but our facing bricks have now turned up on site.

Ive opened one pack and they really don’t look like the online pictures or samples.

Have checked the labels and they are correct as ordered.

As they are a blend do you tend to have to mix packs?

There really isn’t the colour variation I expected.

Having a panic as this could cause a 2 month delay.

Also is there usually an option to return them in this situation?

I guess they will look different when laid but at this moment I’m really unsure and don’t want to get this step of the build wrong.

Bottom picture is from the brochure.  

9196-CE28-31-F4-46-C6-81-E1-D75288-E4-A6
CA400-EDB-463-E-46-F8-A377-5-A32-AA7129-
C7-EC1969-BB64-421-C-9123-316854-D87-ABD
image hosting

Edited by Dan1983

I'm a novice so more experienced people will chime in I'm sure.

First pragmatic question: would you be OK with how it'll look - i.e. laying what got delivered?

Do you have a picture of the samples to compare to what got delivered? Pictures 1 + 2 look the same. 3rd picture looks different only because of the dark patches.

I don't work in bricks but I have worked in manufacturing - sometimes things get mislabelled in the factory, and normal batch production variables mean samples are never exact.

Someone I know recently discovered an entire warehouse stock worth of anchracite radiators were in fact chrome ones in the anchracite box. 3 returned deliveries it took... and a very delayed bathroom.

What does the manufacturer say about guaranteeing production bricks match samples? Are they receptive and willing to help you sort it or are they giving you the cold shoulder? Can you find a third real life source of this brick to match to compare to your sample and delivery?

I’m guessing the top picture is what have been delivered 

If that’s the case they look like a totally different brick to the bottom ones