Fire sprinkler systems

Our_Valleys_build

How is everyone tackling this.. have people been allowed to self install from a certified deisgn packag along with a certified company testing it. 

Im a Pipefitter by trade so this is something I can do myself, id rather install first and second fix and just let someone design the package and test it, I’d work to there standards.. 

My thoughts are.. I can save costs by Doing the install my self. To me i would see it as easy money to be made if I was designing a package and just testing it? 

Hit me with your thoughts?? 

A local icf build to us (scotland) had to install a fire sprinkler system as part of his planning. He done a day course, and done his own install. Worked out pretty good and he reckoned he saved a fortune. If I remember rite it's a rigid  plastic pipe with glue fittings (maybe wrong). I think it was somewhere near Newcastle he done his day course. 

• Like 1

8 hours ago, Russell griffiths said:

Who makes up these ridiculous rules. 

This was introduced under a Private Members Bill type procedure in about 2007-2013 by an MLA called Ann Jones. Fire deaths And injuries in Wales were averaging 17 and 502. Clearly at that rate it will take two or three decades to save even 5 lives per year, assuming sprinklers save all the pot Niall lives they can (which they probably will given the record), as in this country we only renew at most 1-2% of housing stock per year.

I expect that for te first 25 years at least there will be no detectable change,

There was a Report from BRE pointing out that it was not cost effective at iirc 6.7m per life saved, but the decision was presumably made on principle and influenced by Fire Brigades who usually support the measure. See this piece from Wales Online

https://www.walesonline.co.uk/news/wales-news/new-homes-fitted-automatic-fire-2051716

I am not sure how that perception changes after Grenfell.