Im homeless, Can i learn how to build a house in a year?

So i'm homeless in temporary accommodation and its a small dingy depressing hotel room. Im also on the right to build waiting list for land which should be given to me within the next year. I have no building experience and i want to learn how to build a house. From what i've heard from other homeless people, i could be stuck in temporary accommodation for years. I want to do a fast-track home building course and then build my own home within 15 months. Any advice and tips are greatly appreciated. 

Hello and welcome.

It will take far longer than 15 months and will cost at least £1000 per square metre, maybe several times that.

If you are given a plot of land, as an interim you could put a caravan on it, then at least you are master of your own domain.

Good luck!

• Like 1

27 minutes ago, william green said:

Any advice and tips are greatly appreciated. 

Are you able to get some work in the building trade even part time at the weekends? This is where you will be able to supplement your academic learning with hands on stuff.

If possible get work local to where you want to build.. much of self building is about contacts.. the folk you know, the ones who do a good job and have "flexible methods" of payment.

It is possible I think. I'm a firm believer that if you work hard you generate your own luck. Also, at times, you may feel that this is a mountain too high to climb. Do it in small stages.. get to base camp first then plan and prepare for the next part of the ascent.

I wish you all the best and keep BH folks updated if you can.

• Like 3

Hello!
Someone suggested on here ages ago that it would be a great idea to have some kind of list where people could go and lend a hand and learn on the job. In reality, I don’t think it happened.