Dying mortar

Bozza

I am currently building a loose stone granite retaining wall in the garden.  I am considering pointing it to gave the effect in the attached pic which is likely to be lime mortar.  It doesn’t need to be lime mortar,  which is quite expensive,  so I am consider dying cement based mortar a lighter colour using white pigment dye.

I have zero knowledge or experience of dying cement,  or using lime mortar, etc I would appreciate any advise of anyone with relevant knowledge.  

cheers !  Bozza.

12EFBE48-FF7C-48DC-87F7-4E7403DC02CD.jpeg

31 minutes ago, nod said:

If you add hydrated line You will get the effect pictured 

4 sand 1 cement 1 lime 

and lime is as cheap as chips 

Cheers Nod I’ll give that a go.  I thought the hydrated lime was pricey at £17 per 25kg bag but I supposed that will make 150kg on the ratios you suggest.  

27 minutes ago, Bozza said:

Cheers Nod I’ll give that a go.  I thought the hydrated lime was pricey at £17 per 25kg bag but I supposed that will make 150kg on the ratios you suggest.  

It will go a long way 

Probably worth doing a couple of trial mixes till you get the colour you want 

Use Something small like a cup

Four cups of sand etc 

Dont use a plastersizer The lime will aerate the fix 

8 hours ago, Bozza said:

So it's true Jocks are tight! 😂

Pity you're not this neck of the woods as I've a near full bag of hydrated lime you could have had for nothing. 

12 hours ago, nod said:

If you add hydrated line You will get the effect pictured 

4 sand 1 cement 1 lime 

and lime is as cheap as chips 

My builder did this as I wanted it to look like lime, and it does, just what I wanted.