water on underside of osb

TANK

Hello guys. 

Been out this morning to do a bit of work inside my new block shed when I felt a drip hit my head. looked up to find all the osb was wet all the way across. It is covered by epdm, has no leaks (had loads of rain last month), so I'm assuming this is condensation? 

it has been incredibly frosty all week, and I'm assuming a build up of ice is melting now that the sun has hit the roof this morning. Haven't noticed it wet or felt dripping until today though which seems odd. 

I haven't got around to putting the insulation out plaster board up yet which is why it is bare. 

The floor is yet to be concreted, so I suppose could be damp rising from there but thought the fact there is a huge amount of ventilation around the building and the roof especially (the soffit isn't in yet) would negate any of this. 

I'm new to this and at a bit of a loss. Any ideas would be amazing. 

thanks

Tank 

Yes it is condensation.  Moist air from the warmer ground rising to hit the freezing underside of the OSB, condensing and freezing.  Flat roof will tend to suffer more than pitched.  No wind currently, so the ventilation is not doing much.

• Like 2

thanks for that. so this should be remedied once I have the vapour barrier in under the concrete yeah? 

I don't suppose it is doing too much harm for now (I can't get the floor in until the spring). 

The thing that confused me was that there is no water on the undersides of the joists... 

On 18/01/2022 at 17:17, Dave Jones said:

yup that will make it worse.

Why bother post that?!

How about something along the lines of 'doing that would just make it worse because ...'

isn't this normal cold roof construction? I won't put it up until the floor /vapour barrier is down (which I'm assuming has been the source of the condensation).. 

On 22/01/2022 at 11:21, TANK said:

Why bother post that?!

How about something along the lines of 'doing that would just make it worse because ...'