Large tiles / small tiles. Which is easiest to lay?

Nickfromwales

@Barney12

Larger tiles won't follow wonky walls. 
6 and two 3's tbh as I find it's quicker and better with large format tiles but I've been doing this for around 23 years so I would say that ;).
You need to identify the highest point on the wall and make sure there is enough adhesive behind the ones at the lowest point to ensure the wall will be flat.

Off to the grindstone now, post some questions and I'll pick this up later :)   

Hmmm. Different factors.

I'd say that up to about 450x450 are probably OK before some people may struggle, but if you get really big ones that are difficult just for manual handling for you, then you will have problems laying them - and be more restricted in cutting.

A 600mm x 600mm porcelain floor tile could weigh the best part of 10kg. And they come in up to 900x900 iirc. Imagine trying to cut that with a power cutter or just leaning over to lay it down.

Also, breaking one tile can get expensive when they cost £30 por £40 each !

I like about 400x400 or so or 450x300 for walls. I have had no problem laying this size if the base is done properly. It feels modern without being awkward to lay.

Ferdinand

Edited by Ferdinand
  • Like 1

I laid porcelain floor tiles that were roughly 700 x 470 x 10mm which is ok if the floor is flat. I laid them brick pattern which is also ok as long as they are good tiles and not banana shaped which causes problems with 50/50 brick pattern. An alternative is 70/30 which evens the curve out a bit.

Ooh tiling.....seems a long way off at the mo but I know the man to ask! xD

Question asked in another thread and I know it's possible but is it SENSIBLE to tile say half a bathroom floor to get that side of the bathroom "working"? 

12 minutes ago, Declan52 said:

Will be ok till you stub your toe on the edge of the tile some night about 4am.