Are complicated controls/thermostats/hydraulics needed for ASHPs at all?

siletto

Greetings BuildHub'ers! 😄

I am grateful to have you here, as in my County, ASHPs are only started to get installed in the recent years, so few experience is available.

Now, they are installed like there's no tomorrow, but the hydraulic and control 'finesse' is completely missing from most of the installers inventory. Basic 4 port normal buffer tank with huge coil surface area DHW tank. AA battery powered on-off thermostats, no statified tanks, no 3 port configurations, no external plate DHW heat exchanger like I've read in this site. The most ambitious installers make a H-type route changing circuit from manual ball valves(to have the colder water at the buffer tank bottom when cooling), and that is all, no more than the heat pump reference designs from 10 years ago.

I am also an AC and ASHP certified installer, licensed electrician and controls engineer by trade; our family home is under planning and construction now. All solutions should be considered with B2B installer pricing.

It is a ~155sq.m2 ground floor house, 4 bedrooms, with normal-to-good insulation for new homes EU regulations.("porotherm" clay brick 30cm walls and 20cm EPS foam sheet insulation on the walls, 35cm rockwool on the ceiling, warm edge, 3-pane glass windows).

The heat demand is 7.5kW @-15°C, which is the traditional design temperature here, although very rarely gets this cold.

I plan to install the 9kW LG R290 Monoblock heat pump next year for underfloor slab heating, DHW and fancoil heating and cooling. Cooled ceiling is not considered.

As a control engineer, i quickly got attached to the super-smart contollers and thermostats, like 0-10V thermostatic actuators, 0-10V fancoil speed controllers, etc. Then I came across the pricing lists....