Hello and foundation type opinion and cost?

greenqueen

Hello, 

I recently found this forum and am a complete newbie to the self build world and construction in general, although self build is something I've always wanted to do. We have land with an existing house we plan to demolish and rebuild (for long complicated reasons not going for a refurb) planning doesn't look to be a problem 🤞

I'm trying to read up as much as possible on everything, huge amount of knowledge on here so wondered if you could help please. 

We are planning on building a 300sqm, 2 story house which is rectangular, plus a 1.5 story garage. Build route tbc but possibly a hybrid oak and sips frame... although thinking on this keeps changing so we may not go with this route.

1. In your opinion what foundation type is best for sandstone rock and sandy soil when considering cost and minimising cold bridges? We have a budget of £2000sqm in total so really need to get the best cost and best performance we can afford.

2. If we are going to build with a combi oak and sips frame, how does/does this affect the foundation type? 

2. I'm trying to estimate cost for foundations. Even just a ballpark. How much does an insulated raft cost per square meter verses a concrete slab for example? 

I get the impression that finding a groundworking team who know about insulated rafts and will do a good job could be harder than finding a team who can lay strip or slab foundations, don't know if that's true? The project is in the NW.

We have trial holes and will get a geo survey done soon. I will use a SE but for now just trying to map out a provisional budget and also tap into the experience of this forum as I'm so new to this I don't know what I don't know or even the questions I need to ask. 

Any help appreciated 🙏 

Welcome.

1. Traditional trench footings.

2. Not at all unless you want a raft for some reason.

3. Lots more. I'd guess about £20,000.