sense check twin beam calculations

evening,

this is probably the paranoia in me typing, but may I sense check my RSJ order with you? we're opening up an external wall (300mm cavity, brick/brick) to open up an existing kitchen with an extension. we paid a chartered structural engineer to produce calculations and a diagram, which he did. for some reason, it all "feels" a bit flimsy, but keep in mind I'm not an expert.

engineer said we should use a twin beam, 203 x 102 x 23 UB, 4.1m long (3.6m opening + 2x over half overlap on 440mm x 215 x 102 padstone), held together by M12 bolts at quarter distance. this is to hold up an external wall on a typical 1950s council house, low ceilings (2.3m internal) and a typical tile roof. house is a terrace.

does this sound right? I'm hoping those two beams together will hold the house, but I don't know why I imagined I would need something much more massive. any thoughts?

thanks

22 minutes ago, Russell griffiths said:

Does the 23kg a metre sound light. 

As a single I would be questioning it, but as a tied double, terrace house so no racking, pretty standard two storey my gut feeling is it’s ok. Obviously I wouldnt put my name to anything without running the calcs or FEA.

• Like 1

it is indeed 190kg altogether according to the supplier, that made me question it. I thought these beams were much, much heavier. the beams will rest on a 74cm return one side (30 side wall + 44 return) and 230cm+ return other side (30 side wall + 200 return). the diagram was accompanies by several pages of structural calculations, including a section generated by something called tekla tedds.

thanks for your thoughts.

It used to be that if you put in a giant beam you could forgo the engineer. But Building Control have pretty much defaulted to needing calculations for all structural alterations.