Insulated Concrete Slab Garden Office - Questions

Ticky

Hi all,

I'm new to the forum but already found some useful guidance on here, so thanks.

I'm also new to this level of DIY but I'm not shy at having a go, like to make sure things are done correctly (hence my questions) and have a brother who's handy at a lot of things to help (who's also a spark :))

So let me set the scene first.

The garden room I want to build will be 5m x 3m to stay within the 15m2 limit and needs to be close to the perimeter so I'm limited to 2.5m height - I'm 6ft 2in so need to maximise the headroom.

Because of this, I'm leaning towards an insulated concrete slab, with the insulation below the concrete. As it will be used as an office, I'd even consider something like polished concrete as the finish.

Ideally, my slab would be something like my attached diagram, with insulation below the slab but also 25mm to the sides as well. That would mean both the DPM and the separation layer would need to be folded over the side insulation and the slab with the idea that the wall timbers would rest on top. The reason I've put 5x2 as an option is that the timbers would need to overhang the slab to cover the 25mm of extra side insulation so just thinking of getting enough coverage to fix to the slab without potentially cracking the concrete.

Also, I appreciate that the wall timber will be close to the ground but I thought the OSB and coverings would add protection (happy to be corrected/guided)

I'm not planning on pouring the concrete myself but I'm thinking of doing all the prep work myself so it's done as I want it

Also, having the slab at almost ground level would mean I can get the most headroom before I hit the roof joists, but I'm conscious this brings more challenges with regards to damp etc

I'd be very grateful for your feedback on this. 

Thanks

slab1.JPG

Edited by Ticky
added more info