Rendering woes

bassanclan

After looking at lots of alternatives for render we decided that the need for a smooth finish and the desire to have an ashlar groove effect (like houses from Leamington Spa etc) meant we chose sand and cement render.

The S&C is then to be painted cream colour with a self cleaning paint e.g. Sto Lotusan

The renderers have marked out the "blocks" using upvc beads, sticking them on with silicone. The beads and the silicone are white.

Today I realised that the paint won't stick to UPVC and virtually no paint will stick to silicone (which has inevitable squeezed out into the groove of the ashlar when sticking the beads on).

Any bright ideas?

WP_20170302_10_17_32_Pro.jpg

Right I'm no expert but I have built a house that had pvc edge beads and was painted afterwards. 

We used a scotch bright pad and normal sandpaper to rough up the beads before we rendered, we did not have any problems with an acrylic exterior paint sticking to it, apart from if it took a big hit from something. 

As as for the silicon I think you will need to get a stanly knife out and do a lot of rubbing with your finger. It does come of pvc very easily just going to take a while. 

How big are the gaps between the beads? Is this where the silicone has popped out? 

Like the look of the bricked up window?

Its too late now for you but for for anybody else reference you can get a special spray adhesive just for pvc trims. 

There is a 15mm joint between the beads.

We considered laying on the topcoat of render and then cutting out the ashlar grooves, but the renderer thought it would be harder to do. Also you only get one chance to get it right!

The beads could have been nailed on, but then water could get behind the bead and hence topcoat and then freeze and blow.

I think I will have to scrape off the silicon, scotchbrite the pvc, prime the pvc, fill any gaps etc with a non silicone caulk, then paint

• 4 months later...

The rendering saga drags on.