View (glass) vs energy efficiency (walls)

WWilts

Novice here.

Context: Quite a lot of glass on rear (north facing, partly west facing - about 35 degree off due north). Large openings desirable owing to attractive mature trees in rear garden. Likely to have to move from area in a few years, hence not wanting to go over the top for luxury/costs. Economy of build desired, but not penny wise pound foolish economies (5 year horizon, probably sell then).

What would you do?

Would you cut down on size of openings at the rear? Or specify modestly priced glass options and keep the large openings?

Other approaches?

Thanks.

PS Details of windows/doors shown in black/white. Colour pic shows position/size but not correct details.

Rear elevation option B.jpg

Rear elevn 201108 option A.jpg

Ground floor plan option A.jpg

Ground floor plan option B.jpg

9 minutes ago, Russell griffiths said:

TBH that doesn’t look like a lot of glass at all, looks like a fairly standard build. 

I also don’t consider north to be a problem. 

Comforting, thanks.

Coloured is option B.

Black/white is option A.

Trying to decide (although it might be there's not much in it).

Edited by WWilts

Can you not move a few of those windows to the other elevations ..? Study would be getting evening sun if you put the window opposite the door ..? Kitchen window would get morning sunshine if you moved it to the other wall. The French doors next to the window in the kitchen look odd tbh. 

• Like 1

54 minutes ago, PeterW said:

Can you not move a few of those windows to the other elevations ..? Study would be getting evening sun if you put the window opposite the door ..? Kitchen window would get morning sunshine if you moved it to the other wall. The French doors next to the window in the kitchen look odd tbh. 

Not looking to move windows because can't stray too far from planning permission. Just minor tweaks. 

Will bear in mind the odd aesthetics and tweak.

Thanks.