Building that dream

Jimp

Hi,

Another newbie here to gleam your valuable knowledge!

We currently live in Slough and are in the process of selling our home and relocating to near Doncaster and would like to build our own house if budget allows. I had to close my business due to health problems and my wife and i feel this is the right time in our lives to seize this opportunity.

We intend to rent first and look around the area to see what available plots there are and see if it's viable and within our budget. I have been lurking on here for a few days now and been reading up on all the different build options and veering towards PH TF build but without the certification. 

I must admit it all looks a bit daunting, i didn't realise there would be so much to learn/research etc, i feel i have only just scratched the surface from joining this forum.

Jim

• Like 1

Hello @Jimp.

You are right it isn't easy. But it is possible. This discussion board is full of stories showing the spirit and determination of self builders. You have  owned a business. You'll know the level of focus, determination and drive you need to maintain that. Well, you've passed the first test, because you'll need a lot of that skill set.

Use the time between now and buying a plot to plan. You just cannot do enough of that.

Do, please try to research answers to your questions by poking around in the search facility on the site. It takes a bit of getting used to, but just about every topic possible is covered here: sometimes it's hidden away from site: we encourage you to use the tagging system - I've added an 'example tag' to the title of you thread. (You can change it at will).

Advice? Network, network, network. Read voraciously. Then network some more. Plan a bit, review it in the light of experience and then re-plan. 

You've come to the right place. ;)

Welcome aboard. :)