Doors and Doorsets

Ferdinand

I am planning to use these doors on the Little Brown Bungalow x6, (Oak Veneer known as Cottage Oak or Geneva):

https://www.todd-doors.co.uk/cottage-oak-door

They tell me that this doorset would be appropriate:

https://www.todd-doors.co.uk/oak-door-lining-kit at about £72

As I am not that experienced with doors and frames, can anyone confirm that that a good choice, and whether there is a more reasonable alternative. In this case I would be able to paint the doorframe as the existing ones in the house are already painted.

Cheers 

Ferdinand

Edited by Ferdinand

That is a Premdor Suffolk Oak - search for that and you will find it pretty much everywhere... 3 for 2 at Wickes so makes them £71.40 each

No point in putting an oak frame in and painting it, just fit it to the existing frame with 3 decent bearing hinges - Ironmongery Direct have the best selection.

Haven't you answered your own question? Softwood linings and paint. Cheaper and these only look to be veneered anyway

As as it happens I'm just oak veneering some softwood linings I put in a couple of months ago. Don't ask. Customers...

It is a new section of stud wall, so I can size the opening as I wish, which should be:

1981 x 762 mm for the door

= 1991 x 772 with a 5mm margin.

= 2051 x 1002 with 30mm for the door set.

(Minus the bit I trim off the door to allow for my floating floor, which is not pertinent)

Thanks for the replies - not yet confident in this area.

@PeterW Thanks .. will take a second look at Wickes.

Ferdinand

Edited by Ferdinand

15 minutes ago, Ferdinand said:

= 1991 x 772 with a 5mm margin.

= 2051 x 1002 with 30mm for the door set.

= 1994 x 768 with a 3mm margin, 10mm floor

= 2024 x 828 with 30mm for the door set.

Also allow 10mm either side in a new frame to square the door lining in the studwork

1 minute ago, PeterW said:

= 1994 x 768 with a 3mm margin, 10mm floor

= 2024 x 828 with 30mm for the door set.