Found a plot

Dev1

Hi , I’ve just Found a plot I’d love to buy in Northern Ireland, I’m completely new to self building a house so have many questions but here’s a few to start-

Can I get planning permission before buying the land?

How much will this cost roughly?

Do I need to get a design drawn up by an architect before I can apply for planning permission ? 

what’s the first steps I should take to acquire this land for building a home.

A bit more info - I’m originally from NI but now live in Scotland with wife and kids we would live to move over to NI where it seems more financially doable to build our own home. I want to be 100% certain we can build here before buying the plot.  The plot is 0.7 acre and we want a 4 bedroom detached house with a garage.

Thanks 

Hi Dev.

Current build cost here is about £1500/m² for modest standard. We're coming in at £1250 but we did a lot ourselves and missed most of the recent price rises. For a full contractor build, more like £2000m². For a 4 bed and garage you'd be looking at at least £400k.

Yes, normally purchase of land contingent on planning permission.

You'll need representative drawings for outline planning. Architech can do this and the application for you.

Check services before you go any further; water, sewer electric and telephone. Check local planning website to see what had been applied for and passed in the area recently to get an idea of type of house you could have.

• Like 1

Buy the plot on a conditional contract  'subject to planning' - assuming it is priced for development - if it is agricultural value then you just have to take a punt and enjoy the release of the develelopment value upside if you suceed and, if you fail, then you sell on and wear the purchase and sales costs.

Anyone selling a plot without planning 

Either knows that planning is unlikely or very expensive 

You can get planning in principle from a planning consultant in a matter of weeks for about £500-£1000