How to fill hole?!

Jer70

Please can someone advise how best to fill the gap/hole between my shower and wall? I have very little diy experience so don’t want to start ripping things out. As you can see from the picture below, the previous owners have done a bit of a bodge job and the hole was badly filled using mesh tape and a lot of uneven plaster which I’ve now removed.

I have watched videos where plasterboard is glued behind and then plastered over but I don’t know how I can actually get a large enough piece in the hole as it needs to sit behind the shower tray.i don’t think I’m explaining this well but hope you can see from the photo.

is there another easier way of filling that gap?
Also, any ideas how I can deal with the dodgy inch or so of plastic trim that looks so bad?

Any advice greatly appreciated.

0AC89468-6980-4BF0-9089-291537089A2B.jpeg

Hi, assuming the hole doesnt go into the shower area as well, you could use expanding foam to fill the void, trim back when set and then finish as required. not a lot you can do with the bit of trim apart from replace the whole piece or just that bit with something else

Cut a piece of timber batten and slip it behind the existing plasterboard at an angle and fix through either end with a screw.  If the hole if too fiddly for you to get in, mark it out and cut it bigger.  Cut a new piece of plasterboard the size of the hole and screw it to the batten.  Fill, sand, repeat.  Paint.

• Like 2

1 minute ago, Mr Punter said:

Cut a piece of timber batten and slip it behind the existing plasterboard at an angle and fix through either end with a screw.  If the hole if too fiddly for you to get in, mark it out and cut it bigger.  Cut a new piece of plasterboard the size of the hole and screw it to the batten.  Fill, sand, repeat.  Paint.

I tried describing this but gave up, deleted my poor explanation and went for the bodge option instead.

• Haha 1