VAT Claim for Conversion in Scotland

I am just starting out on restoring an old croft house in the Highlands and by chance I found out that I appear to be able to claim back VAT. I am doing most of the work myself.

It appears from this forum that this is a big topic, and I apologise if the following are simple questions or have been answered before. I have tried to search for a while through the posts.

Can someone help me answer the following:

1. Can VAT be reclaimed for the percolation test?

2. At what point do I claim? The government form states that it must be 'within 3 months of the building works being completed, and you can only submit once'. So, does this mean at the end of ALL building works, i.e. when the whole house is done and is habitable, or does it mean each specific component of the building work, i.e. the percolation test?

3. My cottage is derelict and has not been used as a dwelling or other building for as long as locals can remember. It is not currently registered with the local authority for Council tax, and I am having to put in a 'change of use' application. However, I see that I need to provide evidence that it is not been inhabited for at least ten years, but how do I prove this? Do I have to ask the council to write me a letter to say that they have no records of the building, and if so are they willing to do this?

4. I see that there is a 3 month deadline for submissions, and that I need to send 'proof that the building work is finished'. As above, what proof do I need and where do I obtain it?

Thanks,

Andrew

You can’t claim for the percolation test, you get one claim at the end of the build so have to keep all the vat receipts, the end is when building control are satisfied that all the work has been completed to their satisfaction however I think the rules are different for a restoration than a complete new build. If you look on their website you will get all the information there.