Joining a ridge beam

SuperJohnG

My friend and his dad are building a garage/new gym in the garden. So far great job and pretty meticulous detail, however I raised one area of concern last week and they were thinking the same. 

It a stick build with masonary outer leaf. They used an 8 x 2 for the ridge beam which needed to be joined as the garage is quite long. However they joined it with a nail plate and during the build putting the rafters on (they sit in line with ridge board not on it) they noticed it was sagging at that point. I had a look but I had a bit of a concern around joiningg it with a nail plate and the load applying a torsional shear around the nails. 

I'm a mechanical engineer and my input was to ensure the shear load was reacted by a clamping force, by adding two outer sections (cheeks) at the join of the same timber profile and bolting right through. However it is not my area of expertise. 

The concern being, its sagging 10-15mm already, but the roof is to be loaded out with slates, so will be heavy. There are currently no collar or rafter ties. I think they need rafter ties, to stop the walls slapying, but I wanted to ensure there was no extra deflection on the ridge beam. 

garage is 7m long. 4m wide.

any thoughts/ advice appreciated. 

20200914_193321.thumb.jpg.69456a70f038278ed1fb801b3c20cfef.jpg

Picture attached. 

joining plate looks way to short anyway v and prop is only on one side not supporting both bits 

Me 

I would make the rafters into roof trusses , that will  get rid of side loads on your walls from roof  and if they are close enough together there will be no need for the prop anyway 

osb tie plates at top next too the ridge  and same dimension stretcher  as rafter is made from at wall head - you then got your ceiling frame work at same time 

I have to agree with all of the above. 8x2 wont even self support at 7m.

Unless the walls and wall plate are exceptionally strong they will bow allowing the roof to fall in.