Replacing oil boiler with a mix electric/heat pump

Ben100

Hi,

I'm looking at options to replace my old oil boiler/radiator system with an electric boiler/under floor heating, with the option to add an air source heat pump later on and have the electric boiler as backup/top-up.

I've done a bit of research, but this is not an area I'm an expert in. I think the best option would be to go for an electric boiler with large hot-water cylinder and under floor heating. Eventually I'd like to have an air source heat pump and use the electric boiler as a backup/top-up, but as I'm in the middle of building my house I just don't think my budget can stretch to one initially. So my question is "is this possible and is this a good idea?"

cheers!

I am not sure what you are asking?

You talk about building your house so you have the perfect opportunity to get the insulation right and design it to work from under floor heating to which an ASHP is perfectly suited.

But I am confused because you mention replacing an oil boiler, so is this a new house and old house or 2 separate houses?

I would say an electric boiler is not a good idea unless you have some solar/wind on site to generate electric for you. If you are going electric then I wouldn't bother with the boiler, just fit electric heating but then I don't much like the idea of electric UFH from a fault and longevity point of view.

Any figures I look at for electric boilers just seem insane. You are about, say, 4p for a kWh of gas and about 13.5p for kWh of electricity. Boilers are in the 10's of kW's range. Our gas boiler has a max output of 32kW - even if we disregard all the conversions and just take some simple numbers if it was running about 50% capacity on electric that is 16kW - that is going to cost £2.16 an hour! 

Then think about all the losses in getting the water to the heating area etc.

Edited by Carrerahill

2 minutes ago, ProDave said:

I am not sure what you are asking?