Extension for MS sufferer

Pretty Mouth

Hi all, and thanks for adding me to the forum.

My brother in law has progressive MS and now struggles greatly to climb the stairs - in time he won't be able to manage it at all.  We hope to extend to the rear ground floor of their house to create a living space for him.  The budget is limited, so I hope to take on much of the work myself to try to keep costs down.  I'm currently at the design stage, and there are a number of things that I'm not sure about, so the advice of the forum would be greatly appreciated.

I work as a S/E handyman and domestic electrician, but have previously worked in construction for a number of years (with a large gap in the middle while I went travelling) and have done a bit of everything.

Cheers

• Like 1

Welcome to the Forum. Hope we can help.

I don't know if these are still available? Perhaps he's already investigated.

https://www.gov.uk/apply-disabled-facilities-grant

and

https://www.moneyadviceservice.org.uk/en/articles/funding-to-adapt-your-home-for-accessibility#dont-forget-to-claim-vat-relief

"If you’re disabled, any building work you do to adapt your home might be zero-rated for VAT.

Find out more about VAT exemptions on building work on the GOV.UK website."

Edited by Temp
  • Like 1

In some area MS charities offer Hypobaric Oxygen Therapy (HBOT). When a relative suffered a head injury he had quite a few sessions in one of their chambers. While there we met several people with MS that said it helped them to a limited degree. I don't think it's available on NHS or even if there is science to back up the claims they make.  Just thought I should mention it in case its not something he's investigated.

• Like 1

Thanks for the welcome, Temp, and thanks for the info too - I'll pass it on to him.  Interesting, I just googled HBOT and it's the same kind of treatment you would get if you had decompression sickness AKA the bends!  (I scuba dive so have an interest in these things)