I’m new to this forum, I noticed that someone had asked about spray painting. 

I am a spray painter. In other countries spray painting walls and ceilings is very common but, as yet not in the Uk. 

It is better, a lot faster and usually works out significantly cheaper.  Defying the “House Builders Bibles” theory of the triangle. 

A typical three bed semi can be prepared and painted with two coats in one 8 hour day by one person.  

It does have restrictions, best on new plaster, best at New build, full refurb, extension, & basement or attic conversion, i.e between first fix and second fix. Afters Plasterer’s but before Electrician’s second fix. 

Search on Facebook or punch in Emulsion spray painting on YouTube. 

Edited by Nickfromwales
Link to business removed.

We tried to do this on the external walls (we had intended to do the internal walls too). The spray painter (which wasn't particularly cheap) packed up after 4 hours so it went back and the money refunded so we resorted to old fashioned tray and roller, and gazillions of hours painting ;)

There is a good thread here with a lot of experience

I have standardised on spraying but am still in search of an ideal paint for the finish coats for refurbs. 

We have not yet achieved the speed quoted above but it os certainly very quick. The thread describes my experience and others.

I would be interested in the comments of a pro like @Glynn - especially on kit.

Perhaps a thread merge?

F

Edited by Ferdinand

1 hour ago, Mr Punter said:

Takes an age to prep.  OK for a mist coat but it is difficult to touch in any bits later, so you will end up doing the final coat with a roller.