In a bit of a dilemma...

pdf27

A little bit of background for you, we did a fairly comprehensive refurbishment of our last house (keeping the walls, roof, windows and not much else) which gave us a house we absolutely loved. 18 months or so ago I started a new job which was a hideous commute (particularly with two young children), so sold up and finally bought a new place over the summer. I'm a principal mechanical engineer working in the aerospace industry, so have a good grasp of the theory but realistically with two toddlers am not going to get any significant amount of hands-on work done myself.

What we've ended up with is a 1920s bungalow in a nice (large) village, with a huge garden and a 1970s extension on the back. Location is great for us - halfway between where we both work, close to nursery and schools and the kids love the garden.The original plan was essentially a glorified loft conversion, with stub walls to expand the usable floor area a bit since the footprint of the original house isn't all that large (55m2 or so). Doing so would also give us a chance to sort out some of the issues with the existing building - solid walls and ventilated suspended floors mean it's pretty chilly/draughty at times. Found an architect we liked, who came up with a scheme which seems to work and which we should be able to get planning for (very similar to what the house next door did 10 years ago, and they're also building 50 similarly sized houses at the moment at the bottom of our garden). That got modelled up in PHPP and it looked like EnerPHit (which had been an aspiration for some time) might actually be possible.