32mm MDPE fittings

Vijay

I thought the purpose of inserts were  to stop the fitting from crushing the pipe when using olives? Seeing as these rely on rubber O rings to form the seal, do they still compress that much that they would crush the pipe??

Hi,

i am a plumbing and heating engineer by trade, and on here as I am hoping to do a self build next year!

as like all the other comments you deffinetley need to use inserts with all types of fittings! The manufacturer will no warranty any potential failiours if they find that you have fitted them without inserts and you also need to ensure you use an appropriate plastic cutter and not a hacksaw!

9 hours ago, Vijay said:

I thought the purpose of inserts were  to stop the fitting from crushing the pipe when using olives? Seeing as these rely on rubber O rings to form the seal, do they still compress that much that they would crush the pipe??

The inserts have two functions, and are, as mentioned above, essential.  They do provide a bit of additional stiffening, not for the area where the O ring or lip seal bears, but the bit further up where the grip ring bites into the pipe to hold it in place.  The other reason they are essential is that they provide a smooth entry when pushing the pipe in, because there is a chamfer on the flange part of the insert, preventing the sharp cut edge of the pipe from damaging the O ring or lip seal.

Edited by JSHarris

Hmm, I omitted these when building my rainwater tanks - doesn't seem to leaking but I'll retro fit none the less - do I need to scrap the 32mm MPDE pipe I've already used and start again? I've plenty of it so no hardship...

1 minute ago, Bitpipe said:

Hmm, I omitted these when building my rainwater tanks - doesn't seem to leaking but I'll retro fit none the less - do I need to scrap the 32mm MPDE pipe I've already used and start again? I've plenty of it so no hardship...