Flush mount meter boxes

I need to move both my electric supply and gas supply. I only need them moved a few inches, but both DNO’s have said they can’t be, both have suggested best solution is flush fit boxes on external wall.

they are giving conflicting info on mounting them though, and it is something I’ve never done before so looking for suggestions on best practice. They need to be as close to each other as can be safely and acceptably done. Any tips and rules to stick to appreciated!

one particular question I have is regarding fitment. We have 100mm external skin and 60mm cavity. The boxes I’ve looked at require 150mm from outer face so whilst we have that, there is only 10mm to spare. Is that enough? Can the box be spaced off the wall a little to increase that? I know my parents had a flush fit box fitted and they also have 60mm cavity but theirs was done some years ago.

basically any info past “chop out bricks, screw in boxes” appreciated 😂

Edited by Del-inquent

18 minutes ago, Del-inquent said:

I only need them moved a few inches,

Can we ask why?, yes solid gas pipes need doing properly (gas safe engineer?) but if any slack surely electric cables can move this small amount.

1 hour ago, joe90 said:

Can we ask why?, yes solid gas pipes need doing properly (gas safe engineer?) but if any slack surely electric cables can move this small amount.