Where best place to start for beginners block paving

Movieman

Hi guys I'm interested in doing my driveway with block paving porous

It's 4.5m vs 4.5m roughly 

I'm a total beginner and never done anything like this before. I've been quoted 4k odd to do this which is a lot 

Photos attached 

Any types or guidance  would be greatly appreciated 🙏 

IMG-20220316-WA0004.jpg

IMG-20220316-WA0003.jpg

You have 20m2.  if you allow £50/m materials and £80/m labour, plus £250 muckaway it would cost £2,850.

You could do it yourself for half that.

It is not like the contractor would think you live somewhere posh.

If you are doing this to park in the front garden it needs to be done properly.  You will need consent from the council and to install a soakaway or permeable paving, plus a dropped kerb to council spec which would need a streetworks licence plus a lot of public liability insurance.

• Like 1

Had a lot of hard landscaping works done post build, including two large block paved in/out driveways. Used a guy who's bread & butter is block paving so watched him closely as I'm using the leftover blocks for a small bin store.

+1 for the paving expert. The basics seem to be excavating to sufficient depth, especially on sides. Generous bed & haunch for the perimeter blocks as they stop the other blocks moving, very well compacted bed of type 1 for the main block bed, blinding sand and then blocks. Whacker and kiln dried sand to lock it all together.

Where it gets complicated is ensuring a sufficient fall for water, drainage (aco) and cleanly cutting blocks when you get to the perimeter. My guy made it look easy but had years of experience. 

As above, if you're planning to park on it then you need necessary permissions and need to ensure you're building to a sufficient weight standard (deeper excavation and type 1 layer).