Meaning of "dry fit" - taps included?

lek28

Hello there

What is standard as included within a "dry fit" installation? In particular, whose responsibility is it to fit the taps? 

Background is that we used a separation kitchen supplier from the main contractor we used for the rest of our major renovation (they obviously hate each other); however, the kitchen supplier only offer a "dry fit" installation, and so we paid our main contractor to do all the kitchen connections. There is now a dispute over whose responsibility it is to install the tap - each says it's the other's responsibility: contractor says they are only responsible for the plumbing (which they did), and kitchen fitter says they are not qualified to do anything touching the plumbing. Ideally it be great if I could point to whatever the industry standard is. (As a layman, I can see how it might be either way.)

To complicate matters, the tap we wanted arrived after the kitchen was installed, so the kitchen fitters are no longer on site. 

Thanks!

Why do you say the kitchen supplier and the main contractor 'obviously hate each other'?

A dry fit would mean exactly that. The plumber would fit the tap, waste connectors and make water/waste connections. I think your builder is being difficult. It is more normal for a plumber to have tap spanners than a kitchen fitter.

Very helpful, thanks. 

17 minutes ago, ryder72 said:

Why do you say the kitchen supplier and the main contractor 'obviously hate each other'?