ASHP 'Hybrid'

paulc313

6 minutes ago, paulc313 said:

@ProDave It's for a new build. I suppose it's anxiety about using a new technology that we've never used before so want peace of mind that if something goes wrong at least the oil will be a back up.

Then just fit a normal ASHP. you have the option with a new build to fit UFH or large capacity radiators that work well with lower temperature water so the ASHP will work well.

The hybrid oil boiler thing is really aimed at a retro fit where you are stuck with normal radiators that have to run at high temperatures.  the theory is the ASHP heats the water the first stage and the boiler heats it the last bit, but I am unclear how that really works in practice.

@ProDave Ok thanks, I'm just looking at all the options just now. I'm a bit of a noob when it comes to these things. What happens when you may have guests round and multiple people taking showers one after the other? I take all the water in the tank gets used up and you'll have to wait a couple of hours for it to heat up again?

3 minutes ago, paulc313 said:

@ProDave Ok thanks, I'm just looking at all the options just now. I'm a bit of a noob when it comes to these things. What happens when you may have guests round and multiple people taking showers one after the other? I take all the water in the tank gets used up and you'll have to wait a couple of hours for it to heat up again?

The tank will have an immersion heater and many heat pumps also have an auxilliary electric heater that can all be turned on if you need a quick re heat.

Like @ProDave we have an ASHP that does heating and DHW, the only problem with an ASHP is the slow heat up time , I have two thermostats, middle one for the normal two of us and bottom one for when we have guests, we also have two immersions (middle and lower) as back up, if all that fails I will boil a kettle ???.

• Like 1