Detailed Planning Permission

jgiddings

Afternoon,

We are looking at purchasing a plot of land which received full planning permission for a two storey four bed house in 2011. The previous owners started works within five years of receiving permission so apparently the permission will now not lapse. 

However, they have not built the house, just some landscaping and driveway stuff.

We would want to build a house that is similar in terms of style floor space, but only 1 storey. Still in-keeping with the local area.

Essentially, we are happy with the house that got permission, but we would just like something smaller.

How should we proceed? I am relatively new to the idea of self-build and planning so I'm not necessarily looking for full answers but just to be signposted in the right direction.

In many respects the plot is ideal for us, but we couldn't afford to build the house which got permission, and frankly don't need anything that size. My main concern is that we apply for permission to build something different and then all permissions are revoked? I don't know if this is possible.

One other question I have is to do with a condition of the planning that says you shall not take up residency until it has been signed off as meeting the sustainability guidelines.  I assume this would not prevent me from living on the site in a static caravan/outbuilding during the build?

Many thanks for any help you can give us in this.

James

OK. With the husk off. 

Welcome.

You need cast-iron proof (strong enough that you can get compensation if it is baloney) that the start of development has been accepted by the Council, which can I think only be a document called a "Lawful Development Certificate" that the Council themselves have confirmed to you is genuine.