VAT

Jenjen

We have received our first tender response back from a contractor, with the rest to follow. VAT has been included within the quote. As a self builder (via a main contractor) should we not benefit from the zero rated VAT position,  how have other main contractors dealt with this?

Edited by Jenjen

1 minute ago, newhome said:

Yes eligible work for a self build should be zero rated when on a supply and fit basis. Point the contractor as VAT Notice 708 and ask them to zero rate. 

More info here:

https://forum.buildhub.org.uk/topic/6851-a-guide-to-the-vat-reclaim-process/?do=findComment&comment=115965

You'll need to send them your PP to confirm that the build is eligible (i.e. demo & rebuild or green field site).

It’s quite normal to tender like this

As a contractor I send all tenders in plus vat 

As states above If you show the successful contractor your planning content He or She will simply zero rate all labour 

3 minutes ago, nod said:

No I never zero rate materials 

You must, if it's a combined labour and materials job on a qualifying zero rated build.

Only those selling materials only, with no labour, can charge VAT on materials for a qualifying build.

1 hour ago, nod said:

No I never zero rate materials 

2 hours ago, nod said:

It’s quite normal to tender like this

As a contractor I send all tenders in plus vat 

As states above If you show the successful contractor your planning content He or She will simply zero rate all labour 

Have you recently become VAT registered?

I would recommend getting the invoices in front of you and totting up how much this is. Depending on the size and date of the invoices you might be able to correct this on your next return.

As well as dealing with your VAT position your problem is going to be that your customers are not going to be able to get the VAT back from the HMRC on the DIY scheme. 

1 hour ago, Jenjen said: