Brick+Stick frame wall build-up

Annker

Hi all,

I'm at building reg design phase for my planning permission granted victorian refurb and extension.

For context I am a carpenter and I have done a couple of stick frames previously but not in the past decade, therefore I would appreciate critique of my preliminary TF design before I sit down with my SE and Architect.  

From external to internal:

• 100mm brick external leaf 
  • 50mm cavity 
  • 25mm-50mm PIR insulation (Thickness selection TBC to achieve yet to be determined target U-value) 
  • Breathable membrane 
  • 9mm osb sheathing 
  • 140mm timber studwork
  • 140mm PIR insulation with studwork
  • VCL
  • 50mm x50mm battens (to provide service cavity)
  • Plasterboard and Skim coat finish

Queries:

• Is a 50mm cavity sufficiently wide?
  • Will placing PIR insulation cold-side of the breathable membrane create a interstitial condensation risk?
  • I have seen the VCL positioned internal side of the service cavity, however I believe the VCL is better positioned external side of the service cavity

Any options or thought are appreciated       

9mm osb is terrible stuff, go thicker it will provide better racking stiffness. 

Why the insulation in the cavity?

ive stick built with a block skin, all the insulation on the inside in my opinion. 

Having stick built before i would use an airtight osb on the inside also, tape this and use it as your vcl

• Like 1

28 minutes ago, Russell griffiths said:

9mm osb is terrible stuff, go thicker it will provide better racking stiffness. 

Why the insulation in the cavity?

ive stick built with a block skin, all the insulation on the inside in my opinion. 

Having stick built before i would use an airtight osb on the inside also, tape this and use it as your vcl

Yeah I previously used 11mm osb but had read 9mm as being sufficient and commonly used, irrespective of that I probably will still use 11mm as the extra cost of 11mm vs 9mm on a TF of this scale is minimal.