Newbie with first large self-build

mickeych

After several years of looking, we are in the final stages of buying a large plot with an undeveloped stone barn and outbuildings. The plot comes with planning to rebuild and convert the barn to a 4 bed house with a detached studio.

Both my wife and I grew up in rural settings but moved away for careers and to bring our family up and we are now starting this massive project to develop something that we really want to live in.

I have been stalking the site for a few months now as we work through the basics of buying and selling in a tricky market and finally have a completion date so beginning to feel real. 

We have been underwhelmed with both the original plans and the original architect, although to be fair he did manage to get planning for the conversion even though the plot falls within the curtilage of a listed building, but zero WOW factor in the plans which is shame as the site is gorgeous.

We have found and engaged an amazing structural engineer who has lots of local experience dealing with complex planning negotiations. He is happy to (and has experience of) adapting and creating all new drawing and planning versions and calculations and submit/negotiate with local planners based on the existing plans but including  our own ideas and inspirations.

First big question and I know that it really isn't this straightforward: Should we engage an architect to take the ideas that we have and combine them with the original plans or just move ahead as we are? 

Well firstly congrats - it sounds a lovely site.

My theory is that the architect used to 'get planning' puts in the most conservative thing he or she can think of to obtain the landowner's 'planning valuation bounty' with minimum risk. Then often as not, the buyer needs to do the whole planning loop again with the design they want. However, the first loop has broken the ice with the planners regarding size, style etc, so that's a benefit.